Parallel Raglan: Tips and Tricks

Size 3 (38″) worn on a 40″ bust

Kind Words from Testers
“What a fun pattern! I love the unique neckline shape and fun detail of the colorwork and raglan seam pattern. Make sure you watch your tension on the colorwork! Looser is always better than too tight! ” – Sarah Stevens, @teatimefiberarts on Instagram

“This is such a beautiful knit! The colorwork is so unique and the fit is ideal; it hugs where you want it to and lays beautifully everywhere else. I really enjoyed working this pattern as it’s easy to follow and makes semi-complicated techniques feel simple. The idea of knitting a full sweater can feel daunting, especially if, like me, you’ve never done it before. However, this pattern worked up quickly and guides you along the garment knitting journey with ease. I truly enjoyed making this sweater and am even more excited to wear it for years to come. ” – Taylor Niston, @Smittenwknittn on Instagram

“This sweater is the perfect project for people trying to get into knitting garments, or who are looking to try out colourwork! There was no “sleeve island” with this baby! I also really enjoyed having a set amount of body rounds to knit..it made the work go by so much faster! BRB while I live in this sweater for the foreseeable future!” – Janine Trimble, @willcoknits on Instagram

“This pattern caught my eye the second Mollie started doing teasers on her feed. It’s such a modern knit with a fun pop of colourwork. Great for all levels of knitters. It was a blast testing this sweater for such a patient and helpful designer who goes above and beyond to make sure her testers succeed. You will want this sweater to be a part of your wardrobe. Now I need to make all the colour combos!” – Amanda Weatherdon, @alwhandmade on Instagram

“For months I had been trying to decide on a pattern to knit for my niece for Christmas. Since I am new to raglans and lacework, I was a bit hesitant in testing this one out, but I am so glad I dove in! I was addicted right away and actually was knitting it in the backseat of my dad’s car (going down the highway, in the dark, on Thanksgiving) because I didn’t want to put it down! It is so satisfying when you split for the sleeves and then blast your way through the rest of the body! The simplistic, modern parallel-lines colourwork is the perfect touch to keep you going and make you WANT to finish and head off to sleeve island! This beautifully written pattern by an incredible maker is a must have in any pattern library! Thank you so much for allowing me to test this beauty!” – Paige Wall, @perfectposiesbypaige on Instagram

Size 3 (38″) worn on a 40″ bust

Helpful Links
German short-row tutorial:
https://blog.tincanknits.com/2015/05/14/german-short-rows/

Wrap and turn:
https://www.purlsoho.com/create/short-rows-wrap-turn/

Backwards loop cast-on (BLCO):
https://kristentendyke.com/blogs/tutorials/tutorial-how-to-knit-the-backwards-loop-cast-on-method

Elizabeth Zimmerman Sewn Bind-Off:
https://newstitchaday.com/elizabeth-zimmermans-sewn-bind-off/

Size 3 (38″) worn on a 40″ bust

Colourwork
I place my contrast colour skein (Charcoal grey) on my left and my main colour skein on my right. I chose to make my contrast colour more dominant, thus floating it beneath the main colour. I always float the same way to ensure my strands don’t get tangled! 🙂

It’s recommended to catch your floats for the first 3 rounds of the Parallel Raglan’s colourwork. You can do so using the technique shown below, or by lifting your float onto your left needle and K2tog with the next live stitch (this method is used in the sample sweater).

Catching your floats:
https://www.jimmybeanswool.com/secure-html/onlineec/instructionalArticle.asp?iaid=92

Catching your floats from the knitter’s perspective:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajppfcE_HAA&

Another great tip for colour-work is to keep your floats “loose”. I personally flip my sweater inside-out when knitting! This allows the distance the yarn travels across the outside of the sweater to ‘stretch’ a little bit as the circumference of the outside of the sweater is greater than the inside of the sweater. When you then flip your sweater right-side-out, that extra distance will naturally add extra ‘looseness’ to your floats for you. Additionally, try not to squish your stitches close together on the needle when knitting. While yes, this allows you to knit faster, this also makes your floats tighter!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started